great (un)expectations

It came to my attention over the weekend that the end of the month will mark the 6th month I’ve been in Seattle.

Half a year.

My question: How?

I know it’s a bit of a cliche question, but it never ceases to amaze me how fast this time thing goes by.

Reflecting back on my decision to move to Seattle, to pursue this graduate program, I can honestly say I had no expectations. Having never ventured to Seattle, have little experience in student affairs, I was a blank slate. A blank canvas. A blank…what else can be blank?

Initially, this excited me. I’ve always considered myself as one who thrives off change, and this was just another undiscovered chapter in my life. However, as the journey fast-approached, I found myself experiencing a lot of dissonance. Who just uproots their whole life for a place that is totally unknown? Why would you leave a community you’ve grown to love? Doesn’t it rain a lot there? (sans the past month, I’m happy to report that the weather hasn’t been all that terrible)

I had to remind myself that this was the choice I had made. This was my adventure. Seattle was going to be my space. My space to grow. My space to build relationships. To refresh and discern who I am as a person and who I want to become.

Taking the time to look back on the past six months, I’m glad I came out here with no expectations. I think I’ve valued the experience so much more because every moment is an opportunity to learn. Every moment is an opportunity to see things in a different way than I have before. I breathe in the Seattle air each morning and can’t get enough of the mountains, the people…the contentment I feel here. Who knew contentment could spring forth from the unexpected?

Sometimes it’s important to embrace the fear and uncertainty. These things have no right to cripple your peace of mind. Enabling them to do so, as I’ve learned, is more unsettling than the change itself.

Leave a Reply

