Quarters.

I’ve never experienced the quarter system before, so I wasn’t too sure what to expect, other than that it was going to be a much faster pace. While fall quarter didn’t throw me for that much of a loop, I will say that winter quarter has proven a much bigger challenge.

This could be the result of several added factors- it’s a shorter quarter, the weather (until recently) hasn’t been that great, and the classes I am taking are more challenging. I don’t like feeling as though I’m needing to cram a ton of information into my head at once. I guess it just takes getting used to the system…

In attempting to balance myself and maintain a level of self-care, I am trying to find opportunities to take the stress off. Sometimes this is in the form of yoga. Other times through playing my guitar or sharing a meal with friends. Regardless of what it is, these moments help to center me- they enable me to take a step back to breathe and refocus. They haven’t happened as often this quarter as I would have liked, but I am a firm believer in their value.

 

One thought on “Quarters.

  1. Kelly,

    Totally agree about the shift from Fall Quarter to winter. Coming from the Semester system, I can confidently say it is a challenging transition.

    Dustin

Leave a Reply

