Time to take a break…

The Winter Quarter is done.  The sun is shining again.  It’s time for SPRING BREAK!

However, I’m sitting here wondering what to do with my life.  I, like many of my class mates, have been going non-stop for a little over 6 months.  Sure we had Christmas break, but I personally had to help with my sister’s wedding and go to all the family events that revolve around Christmas time.  Basically, I had my life planned out for me.

Before grad school I worked nearly 60 hours a week.  If I wasn’t working, I was on-call.  If I wasn’t on-call, I was most likely catching up on lost sleep.

What in the world is a BREAK?

Just a few minutes ago, I was talking with my friend about taking breaks.  He has an online company that he helped start.  We were talking about how his co-founder works essentialy 19 hours a day, 7 days a week.  When asked if he wants to take a vacation his response is “What would I do!?”

Thinking back on my previous experience with developmentally delayed individuals I’ve gained a lot of insights on how humans work.  Sometimes we take for granted the skills we learned as a kid.  One of my tasks for the kids I worked with was to teach them HOW to play.  I thought at first that was a strange concept, I mean play is natural!  However, as I look at my current state I realize that play is anything but natural.  Freedom to do nothing can drive people mad.  It is why we fill our lives with work, school, volunteer work, movies, books, etc.

I don’t really know what it means to “relax” anymore.  Its funny that relaxing and playing are skill sets that most of us take for granted.  However, they are absolutely critical in a field where work can consume us.  We pour ourselves into students and often don’t take the time to recharge.  It shows in my work at times.  I LOVE working with my students.  However, I often feel drained.  I know it has everything to do with me being unable to recharge on occasion.

I liken it to music.  The most important thing I learned when I was learning to play the clarinet was to embrace the breathe marks.  Don’t rush the moments of silence.  They are what make the music.

This week I’m going to work on embracing the breathe marks.

One thought on “Time to take a break…

  1. Loved this, coming from a violin background:

    “I liken it to music. The most important thing I learned when I was learning to play the clarinet was to embrace the breathe marks. Don’t rush the moments of silence. They are what make the music.”

Leave a Reply

