Introduction.

Hi Everyone!! This is Sha’terika Perkins (Class of 2013)! I am really excited to have the opportunity to be a part of the SUSDA blog. I’m currently a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (ILL-INI) double majoring in Psychology and Sociology. My past campus involvement includes programming, admissions (office assistant and tour guide), mentoring (low income elementary students and international students), several search and advisory committees, workshop/course development and facilitation, and research in the Department of Educational Psychology.

I am currently an intern with Diversity and Social Justice Programs, a Counseling Center Paraprofessional, a NASPA Undergraduate Fellow, an office assistant in the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and I co-facilitate two courses (Psyc 341: Social Justice Educators and EPSY 203: Race and Ethnicity Intergroup Dialogue). I also like cereal, bacon, milk, singing (I’m not good at it), learning random things, watching documentaries, reality tv, and Christmas (8 months!).

As you can see my interests are far and wide. This is part of the reason why I am pursuing a career in Student Affairs. I love the idea of being able to do a variety of different things all at once (I will explain more about my love for student affairs another time). I am really excited to be a part of the SDA program at Seattle U. I was really worried that I wouldn’t find the program for me and that I would have to compromise a lot, but that didn’t happen!

I was looking for  a program that would allow me to continue to grow in my passion for diversity and social justice without having to be directly in that functional area (i.e. an office dedicated to diversity), one that would allow me to continue practicing my counseling skills, give me several opportunities for different practical experiences, and one with very supportive faculty. I found all of this and more in the SDA program! I am really excited to have the chance to pursue research opportunities, belong to a cohort model, experience a smaller campus (U of I has 45,000 students), different student population, and private institution. I can only imagine all of the wonderful (and fun) things SU and Seattle have in store!

Oh yeah, my assistantship is with the Collegia Program! Also, I wasn’t at Preview Days so how do you pronounce “SUSDA”?!

Peace,

Sha’terika

About Sha'terika Perkins

I hope to empower women and communities to experience intimacy with Jesus and discover their true self through inner healing, coaching, hospitality, and writing.

2 thoughts on “Introduction.

  1. Welcome, Sha’terika! If you have a passion for diversity and social justice, then I think Seattle U will present a wealth of opportunities for you!

    SUSDA is pronounced seuss-duh (like Dr. Suess).

    See you in the fall
    ~Heather, class of 2012

Leave a Reply

