This is the Greek Life?

Saw something earlier this morning that I thought might provoke some conversation on the blog.

Seattle University does not have Greek Life, and Greek Life seems markedly absent from most our studies (although it does get brief mention in theory, which is the only place I’ve encountered it so far). However, Greek life makes a significant impact on many campuses, and I know some of my peers have a past history and future interest in working with Greek Life.

Samantha Wishman over at the Daily Beast takes issue with the current state of Greek Life, specifically the different standards Fraternities and Sororities are held to by their national organizations, and what that implies for gender relations both on and off campus. It’s an interesting read from someone who worked within Greek Life.

About Brandon

Blogging about my steady diet of culture.

One thought on “This is the Greek Life?

  1. I think that is an awesome article. I was a member of an International Sorority in college and ended up leaving and terminating my affiliation because of time constraints, but I also have felt the difference in standards between the fraternities and sororities. Most of the differences and issues, at least in my experience, have all circulated around the use of alcohol. My house, along with all other girls’ houses, were not allowed to have alcohol at all even though we were a wet campus. We were also only allowed to have boys on the first floor and in one designated room in our house. My experience with the fraternities, on the other hand, was completely different. They had alcohol in their rooms and freely available and were allowed to have girls in any room of the house including bedrooms. Now, perhaps they were simply breaking the rules of their house, but I feel that if they were caught there were no repercussions. I think Greek Life is a very interesting field, but I wonder if it will be a difficult field to improve or change because so many houses are governed not by those employed to work with them, but by international or national councils. I applaud the author for taking a stand.

Leave a Reply

