Big Man on Campus

As part of my preparation for graduate school, I am reading books that explore various aspects of higher education and student development administration. One of these books, authored by Stephen Trachtenberg, president emeritus of GW University, explores university administration from the viewpoint of the presidency.  He presents insights on higher education gleaned from over thirty years as president of two universities.  After reading this book, I possess a better understanding of the challenges faced by educational institutions.  Also, I learned the importance of presence and optics in higher educational leadership.  Trachtenberg incorporates humor and humility into his reflections of the complexity inherent to academic endeavor.

Throughout the book, he affirms the joy of learning.  I truly enjoyed learning from the experiences of this exemplar of academic leadership.  I hope to bring a similar level of devotion and humility to my future career in academe.  I believe that anyone involved in leadership roles, especially higher education leadership roles, can extract many pearls of wisdom from this book.

 

–Waz

Leave a Reply

