Thank You

In this posting, I want to extend a very appreciative thank you to my fellow blog posters. Your stories and reflections have been very energizing and invigorating for me. With long days of internship, work, class or moving out of my house, hearing your thoughts have given me a new perspective and a new found love for the student affairs profession. It’s amazing to think that, one day, we will be getting paid to do such amazing and flat out fun work. The rest is a recap of my summer and I hope that someone will be able to use it as I have used previous postings.
The summer started slowly, but has progressively become much more intense. Interning at the University of Washington in the Student-Athlete Academic Success department has been a challenge. Most students are underprepared and have 12 years of bad learning habits that need to be identified and corrected before the Fall quarter. It is challenging but rewarding, and it’s a great reminder of why student affairs is concerned in helping students grow holistically.
I am also still working at South Seattle Community College in the International Programs office as an Activities and Events Coordinator this summer. I go into the office one day a week which is a very difficult task. To get caught up on the week’s happenings and then prepare for the coming week makes me feel like I’ve been sent through the office in warp speed. However, yesterday we played a soccer game against another school and I was very impressed by our students. First of all, they actually showed up and they represented the school and the International Programs office very well. I was even able to play for a bit. I touched the ball twice and turned it over both times.
I’m one week into a four week class. It’s very intense and makes for very long days as I don’t get back to Bellevue until 10:15. That will change after next week, you’ll see why below. Sport Philosophy and Ethics is much different than any other grad class I’ve taken. Not much discussion, just a lot of lecture. It’s given me a chance to think about my personal philosophy of sport and also given me reason to watch more sports. Too bad I can’t use that as an excuse to not study.
Lastly, I am in the middle of moving out of my current residence in Bellevue. I will be moving into the Xavier Residence on Seattle U’s campus for 3 weeks before I move in with Nick Dietrich and James Spaan. My free time has been occupied with packing and cleaning. This will make moves 9 and 10 in the past 5 years.
With all this being said, the previous postings by my fellow classmates have been very inspirational and have given me a new lens through which to see during these long days. I am able to see how my work load at this time is going to prepare me for the long days ahead while working in the future. I’m able to see how dissonance between a supervisor or coworkers leadership style can strengthen my working knowledge of how to interact with others in the future. So, again, I say thank you to all of you who have told your stories and shared your experience. I can’t wait to read the next one!

One thought on “Thank You

  1. I appreciate your reflections, Nate. I did see that you will be living on campus for a few weeks! Exciting stuff! We should meet up when you are on campus! Let me know!

Leave a Reply

