Notes From The Field

Hello,

Greetings from Georgetown University. Yesterday, I arrived in Washington DC to begin my internship with the Meyers Institute of College Preparation (MICP). MICP is a pre-college academic enrichment program that serves potential first generation college students from DC’s 7th ward neighborhood. The program supports students from 7th grade up to their first year in college. As part of the program, students have the option of participating in a 5 week college immersion summer institute during which time they live on campus and attend intensive classes. The object of MICP is to not only prepare students academically but also enhance their confidence. Also, this experience orients students to the college culture.

Specifically, I serve as the resident director for 19 students enrolled in the summer institute. I work with two RAs, Krista and Malik, to provide a residential experience for these students. In addition to attending to the daily tasks of managing a residence floor, I will take part in developing a living-learning community for these students by collaborating with the academic instructors in developing programming. Also, I will be assisting Krista, a graduate student at UPenn, with an intergroup dialogue program focused on racial and sexual identity development. And, I will be meeting with various department directors and offices for informational interviews. In sum, I will be very busy this summer! But, I have a feeling that the next few weeks will fly by.

While I hope to periodically post updates, I anticipate that my free time will be precious and limited. So, if anyone wants to know more about my internship experience, the Georgetown campus or DC in general, feel free to send me an email at wasserm3@seattleu.edu. I promise to respond!

–Waz

BTW, here is he link to the MICP website if your interested in learning more about the program (FYI, they will be looking for an intern next year for this program!)

http://micp.georgetown.edu/

One thought on “Notes From The Field

Leave a Reply

