SUSDA Member of the Week – Bopha Cheng

Our member of the week for WQ Week 9 is Bopha Cheng!  Here’s a little bit about Bopha:

Name: 

Bopha Cheng (pronounced Bo-pah)

Where do you work and what do you do?

I am currently not working and enjoying this opportunity to focus on the SDA program. However, I am keeping my options open for part-time work and have strong prospects for an internship this spring quarter. Recently, I worked at a technical college where I provided support to academic programs and coordinated student support services and activities on the branch campus.

Interesting fact about you:

I’m sap for Korean drama and can’t pass up horror movies –what are the odds of that combination?

How do you de-stress?

I’ve thought about multiple ways that I de-stress and my favorite would have to be chatting with a close friend or peer. I think it’s really important to have a good support system where you can dial a friend and talk through a frustration or simply to chat about the weekend just to get things off my mind.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In five years… Professionally, I would like to be in a leadership position where I can provide voice and impact on policies and decisions made on a college a campus regarding equity and access. I’m staying local to the Seattle area and can definitely see myself in the community college setting.

What would you like to see within SUSDA?

Hmmm. Good question, as a commuter student I have to be very intentional with planning my time on campus and often miss out on some events and activities. Maybe I’ve missed this, but I would be interested in seeing a quarterly or monthly calendar of events. [update: I have been informed that there is a calendar on the SUSDA Blog susda.wordpress.com]

About cvandrimmelen

I'm a student affairs graduate student and technology enthusiast at Seattle University. I'm slightly ridiculous and sometimes hilarious, but never boring. This blog details my adventures, misadventures, exploits, random rants, and professional journey, all the while attempting to make a readable end product.

Leave a Reply

