SUSDA Member of the Week – Anna Rachel Renzetti

Where do you work and what do you do?
I currently work for the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation (that’s a mouthful, I know!). I am a Rehabilitation Technician for DVR, which means I support counselors who work closely with individuals with disabilities. We work as a team to help people get employment opportunities that fit their abilities. Sometimes I feel like I’m the only one in our program not working directly with students, however this work is very rewarding and inspires me to be a better student affairs professional.

Interesting fact about you:
Oh dear… I think it might be interesting to some that I am from Salt Lake City, Utah. I’m also someone who loves adventure. I bungee jumped of a 265 foot bridge in Costa Rica. It was and still is the craziest thing I have ever done!!

How do you de-stress?
As crazy as it sounds, commuting as become some what of de-stress zone for me. At first it stressed me out but then I realized I was putting energy into something that wasn’t worth it. Instead, I crank up KEXP and enjoy the ride!

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
In 5 years I hope I am happy and healthy. I really want to be empowering students to see their strengths and abilities and help them turn that into a future. I will be starting an internship at Highline this summer, and I can see myself thriving in that type of setting.

What would you like to see within SUSDA?
SUSDA has been so supportive and creative so far! Since I am a non-traditional student who works off campus and doesn’t live near/on campus, I would love the opportunity to get to know more students who are in the same boat.

About cvandrimmelen

I'm a student affairs graduate student and technology enthusiast at Seattle University. I'm slightly ridiculous and sometimes hilarious, but never boring. This blog details my adventures, misadventures, exploits, random rants, and professional journey, all the while attempting to make a readable end product.

Leave a Reply

