SUSDA Member of the Week – Chanell Sagon

IMG_1971

 

Where do you work and what do you do?

I am currently the College Readiness Coordinator at South Seattle Community College. I am responsible for providing the College Readiness Academy Workshops (topics include COMPASS testing, financial aid, 4-year/2-year comparisons, etc.), outreach, and advising to students at West Seattle High School. I also work as a Graduate Intern for Tacoma Community College in the Office of Student Life. My responsiblities there include advising, facilitating leadership training, and developing a leadership acrredited course at TCC.

Interesting fact about you:

Something that not a lot of people know is that I’m born and raised in Oahu, HI. After 6 years of living here, I’m slowly becoming a “Washingtonian” but still a local girl at heart! I’m also a Foodie, a musical junkie, and a Girls & Game of Thrones Fanatic.

How do you de-stress?

Sitting on my porch with my favorite magazine and coffee in hand is what I call a perfect “de-stresser”. I am a huge believer in retail therapy, and also taking quality time to spend with friends & family.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself happily content in both my personal and professional life. My ultimate goal is to move back home to Hawaii working as a Student Life Assistant Director or Program Coordinator in one of UH’s Community Colleges. I hope to facilitate leadership development training within the Community Colleges, working specifically with low-income, and at-risk students of color.

What would you like to see within SUSDA?

Weekend events would definitely something I’d like to see more of. Being a “non-traditional” student (living off-campus & part-time), it’s hard to find the time during the week. Creating events that are more “commuter” & “part-time” student friendly would be a great way to get even more connected to the program.

About cvandrimmelen

I'm a student affairs graduate student and technology enthusiast at Seattle University. I'm slightly ridiculous and sometimes hilarious, but never boring. This blog details my adventures, misadventures, exploits, random rants, and professional journey, all the while attempting to make a readable end product.

Leave a Reply

