SUSDA Member of the Week – Noah Overby

Overby Mug Shot!

Where do you work and what do you do?

I work at South Seattle Community College in the International Programs Office doing academic advising. Working in the department has enabled me to get a grasp on a variety of functional areas within International Programs including advising on immigration issues, admissions and transfer, academic planning, and activities and events. Right now I’m focusing on advising students in our Intensive English Program (IEP). We have been focusing on intrusive advising to help retain students and encourage their success when they face initial adjustment, attendance, or study skills challenges.

Interesting fact about you:

I studied fine arts for my undergraduate and have a painting that has been purchased by the City of Seattle for their Portable Works Collection and completed a commission for the Alexis Hotel in downtown Seattle. My partner and I are also having a baby due June 7, 2013 (my graduation gift)!

How do you de-stress?

(You mean besides being interviewed for the SUSDA Member of the Week?) My life is very full right now, so I don’t have a lot of time to distress at the moment; however, given the opportunity I love to paint, draw, make prints, and cook wonderful food. I’m also looking forward to trying my hand at creating an herb and vegetable garden this spring/summer after graduation.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In five years I could see myself in a director position within an International Programs Office. I waiver about whether I would want to pursue a doctorate down the road, but for now I’m just excited to be finishing my master’s program!

What would you like to see within SUSDA?

This is my last quarter in the SDA program, so I would like to maintain my connection to SUSDA moving forward. I hope to participate as a resource or mentor for students in the program. I know International Programs is often an interest of students in our program, so I am happy to answer any questions people may have about working in International Education or a community college.

About cvandrimmelen

I'm a student affairs graduate student and technology enthusiast at Seattle University. I'm slightly ridiculous and sometimes hilarious, but never boring. This blog details my adventures, misadventures, exploits, random rants, and professional journey, all the while attempting to make a readable end product.

Leave a Reply

