SUSDA Member of the Week – Elia Grenier

ATF Team

Where do you work and what do you do?

I work as a Senior Administrative Assistant in the Office of University Planning here at SU, supporting the Assistant Vice President for University Planning and the Director of Institutional Research, and the Chief Information Officer.  It is a very interesting office to work for as I get insight into strategic planning and assessment, institutional research and data, and technology contracting, planning, and budgeting (I know, it’s exciting stuff!). I do a lot of scheduling, survey administration and reporting, and generally learning how to understand and visualize data. I have worked full-time throughout the SDA program, but have only been working on campus since October. I love being on campus more so I can participate in more SDA and SUSDA events like community meetings, internship and portfolio presentations and socials.

Interesting fact about you:

I have tattoo on my ribs with the Mary Oliver quote “Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?” I try to always take that to heart and not sweat the small stuff (with varying degrees of success!)

How do you de-stress?

I like riding my bike (I am a year-round bike commuter), taking kickboxing or step classes, and cooking good food while

listening to All Things Considered or This American Life on NPR.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years? 

I hope to be in a Program or Project manager role at a college or university, most likely either here in the Northwest or back in Montana.

What would you like to see within SUSDA? 

I would like to see more opportunities for people to connect across different backgrounds—GA/non GA, part time, full-time, on-campus/off-campus, employed outside of higher ed…I look forward to helping make those connections as part of next year’s E-team.

About cvandrimmelen

I'm a student affairs graduate student and technology enthusiast at Seattle University. I'm slightly ridiculous and sometimes hilarious, but never boring. This blog details my adventures, misadventures, exploits, random rants, and professional journey, all the while attempting to make a readable end product.

Leave a Reply

