SUSDA Member of the Week – Leanna Patricio

20130504_125539_resized

Where do you work and what do you do?

I’m the Lead Enrollment Adviser for the University of Washington Professional & Continuing Education department. In my role, I oversee our Enrollment Advising Center staff, where we are the first line of contact for prospective students interested in taking a certificate program, online graduate degree, noncredit courses, or our new Undergraduate Online Degree Completion Program in Early Childhood & Family Studies. Throughout the year I am also responsible for coordinating open house events for our various areas of study, and assist in larger, brand-level Career Insights events geared towards working professionals. 

Interesting fact about you:

An “interesting” fact about me is that I’ve performed at a Seahawks halftime show! It was in the middle of freezing winter and my halau (hula dance school) was chosen to do a Tahitian dance routine.

How do you de-stress?

I enjoy being a busybody, but when I have the time (and cash), I absolutely LOVE doing Bikram yoga! During the 90 minutes of intense heat and 26 postures, it’s really the only time where I can say that not a single thought crosses my mind about work, school, or life in general. It’s kind of amazing. 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years I see myself working at a community college in Seattle. In what capacity? Not sure just yet, but I want to be of service to students at this institutional type because of my own experience as a community college student.

What would you like to see within SUSDA?

If it’s possible, more events on weekends! It has been more difficult than I realized to try and meet during the day or weeknight with both work and school, so if one or two events every quarter took place on weekends, it would be great!

About cvandrimmelen

I'm a student affairs graduate student and technology enthusiast at Seattle University. I'm slightly ridiculous and sometimes hilarious, but never boring. This blog details my adventures, misadventures, exploits, random rants, and professional journey, all the while attempting to make a readable end product.

Leave a Reply

