SUSDA Member of the Week : THAD TEO

Thad Teo

Name: Thaddeus “Thad” Teo

Current job & location: Advancement Assistant for the Social Sciences Division, College of Arts & Sciences, University of Washington

Why are you passionate about student affairs: To briefly sum it all up in a few sentences– During my time as an undergrad, I met quite a few students who simply believed that they were here only to get a degree and get out. I believe that there’s a lot of work student affairs professionals can do to support students in getting a more all-rounded college experience, and I’m passionate about facilitating opportunities for out-of-classroom experiences because education should not be limited to just academics.

What are some of your favorite things to do or places to visit in Seattle: I love being able to take short drives out of the city to go hiking, but since this question is asking about places IN Seattle, I’d say hanging out at parks: Greenlake, Golden Gardens, Gasworks, Seward, and Safeco Field (it’s a ballpark so it counts).

Outside of class and work, how do you like to spend your time: If I’m not out in nature or watching sports, I enjoy cooking and homebrewing.

Fun fact: I have a 100% success rate in matchmaking (n=1). Back story: During one of the international student orientations that I facilitated while I was an undergrad at UW, I introduced an exchange student from Auckland, New Zealand to another exchange student from Coventry, England. They were both only here in Seattle for 3 months, but 3 years later they’re still together and living happily together in Sydney, Australia. Moral of the story? College isn’t just about getting a degree, it’s to find your ________ (fill it in yourself).

Leave a Reply

