SUSDA Member of the Week: Kari Berkas

IMG_6310

Name: Kari Berkas

First Year or Continuing Student: First Year Student

Current Job: Graduate Assistant at the Albers Placement Center in the Albers School of Business and Economics, Seattle University

Why are you passionate about student affairs?
I think it is important to provide opportunities and guidance outside of the classroom so that students can get the most out of their college experience. In addition, I have had multiple professional experiences with international exchange in the past few years, so I am particularly passionate about working with study abroad programs and supporting international students.

What is your favorite place to go or thing to do in Seattle?
Eating at a seafood restaurant on the waterfront.

Outside of class and work, how do you like to spend your time?
Besides spending time with friends, I like to exercise outside – usually that means walking or running (but I love to play tennis any chance I get). I also enjoy going to coffee shops, listening to music, playing piano, and watching comedy TV shows.

Fun fact: I used to live in Japan.

Leave a Reply

